Thinking About my People

–I wish we could instill dreams, aspirations, and hope into other people.  I can’t imagine what it’s like to live without these.  What would it be like to think, “I can’t make it big, so I won’t try at all.”  What if no one ever taught you to do what you can do with what you have?

–Yesterday I felt lifted up by prayers.  There is no other way I could have felt so well.

–WHY did I not have my camera with me at the garden?  I wish I could share with you the expressions of amazement on the children’s faces when they pulled potato plants out of the ground and found….REAL POTATOES.  Evan, one of the interns, said he’d cook the potatoes for lunch today.  I hope they loved them.

–I hope that when [he] ate those delicious potatoes that he helped pull out of the ground, he regretted his words: I hate gardening.

–If you get evicted, it doesn’t help anyone–including yourself–for you to write ugly messages on the public bathroom walls or to mess up your apartment. (but it does add more jobs to Steve’s list; please, refrain)

–One of my favorite students is now a juvenile delinquent.  He’s eleven.

–It is so, so, so, so cool to see middle-aged men volunteering in the kids’ programs!!!  Do you have any idea how much these children need a father figure in their lives?  They are crying out for the love of a father and for stability.

–Anyone anywhere can make a difference in someone’s life.

–Awhile ago we rounded the last corner before the mission and Zachary pointed out a woman standing on the corner, “That lady is so pretty.”  I looked over to see a nicely dressed woman who weighed at least 200 pounds, and asked him what he saw that he liked (just out of curiosity).  “I like her dress,” he said.  She was wearing a khaki skirt and white shirt and pink cardigan.  She did look attractively put together, and those clothes aren’t common on that corner.  Just found it interesting to hear what he sees as pretty.

–Two quotes I read in Parents (July issue, P.110,  111, 158)

Though hunger gets the most media attention around the holidays, summertime is actually the roughest stretch for many children…

…When we hear yelling in the waiting room, it’s usually because the mom, child, or both is really, really hungry…

…While it may seem paradoxical, hunger also plays a key role in another major public health issue: childhood obesity.  ‘Parents may buy fruits and vegetables until their disposable income is drastically reduced, but then they have to turn to very low-cost foods that are higher in fat and calories,’ explains Dr. Redlener.  Poor neighborhoods are more likely to lack grocery stores, farmers’ markets, and other affordable sources of healthy foods.  Even if you can find produce for sale in your neighborhood, you might not be able to afford it: A study from the University of Washington found that junk food can cost an average of $3.32 per 1,000 calories, compared with whopping $27.20 per 1,000 calories for nutritious foods. ‘I often hear things like, ‘Those people can’t be hungry–they’re fat!’ says Janet P… “But the least healthy, most obesity-inducing calories in our society are often the cheapest.’

