Creating a Compost Bin to Provide Fertilizer for Your Garden

For those of you who do gardening–especially organic, container or square foot gardening–here is a wonderful post I found on How to Make a Worm Compost Bin.  Often I see this done in huge quantities where the cost and project size looks way too big.  This is a small scale version you could do as a trial–I’m definitely planning to try it.

The author includes links to posts with step by step photos, and the results a month later, three months later, and a year later.

Here’s a convincing paragraph if you’re not too sure about this idea:

I know when most people think of a compost bin, they think of a big pile of rotting leaves and garbage, with flies buzzing around. Fortunately, that is not what it’s like at all. In fact, as long as you don’t overdo the food, a worm compost bin has absolutely no smell and won’t attract bugs.

Reading around a bit has convinced me on the benefits of composting, I’ve just never quite been willing to deal with all of it.  Now, I’d like to try!  Let me know if any of you start worm farming, too. :)

2 thoughts on “Creating a Compost Bin to Provide Fertilizer for Your Garden”

  1. I am trying so hard to sneak in a morning nap, and your blog is gluing me to my seat! :) I’m so glad you left me a comment so I could discover your delightful blog…you have a lovely decorating style, and have made your house such a place of simple beauty, comfort, and invitation. That is what I want for our home. Thanks again for the comment, they make my day!

    Blessings,
    -Shelley

Comments are closed.