Ooey-Gooey Gluten Free, Egg Free Brownies (with sugar free, lactose free variations)

Okay, so WHAT kind of brownie is this???

It’s delicious, I’m telling you, and easy to make.

A couple months ago I decided it was time to get serious about going white sugar and white flour free, so I stopped cold turkey.  It was not an easy week! A few days in I haaaaad to have something sweet.  I found a brownie in a mug recipe–an unhealthy version.  I looked up gluten free brownie recipes, too, and after some experimenting came up with this recipe.

I’ll write out the recipe in the combination I like best then add variations as well. My style of cooking is unpredictable.  I didn’t truly understand why recipes would note “optional” next to some ingredients until a friend told me she decided to skip eggs in a pecan pie. Okay, so some ingredients are essential, but still I see most ingredients as optional.  (This may also be why I am more successful at cooking than baking.)  I see recipes as suggestions and can hardly force myself to follow them precisely.

For those of you who like exact measurements, I tried very hard to come up with a recipe you could follow.  I hope you like it!

1.) Start brewing coffee.

2.) 1 T. butter, melt over low heat–preferably in cast iron, but any pan will do  Dairy free alternative: coconut oil

3.) 1/2 handful(?) pecans, toast in the butter

Atlanta children Photography -2212

4.) 1 T. brown sugar, (increase to 1 1/2 if this isn’t sweet enough) add to butter and pecans I know, I know.  Brown sugar is only a tiny bit less evil than white sugar, but the brown sugar adds a caramel flavor.  Unbeatable flavor.  Sugar free alternative: substitute honey or stevia

I have an electric stove so at this point I turn off heat.  If you cook on a gas stove you may want to keep warming the brownie on low heat. These don’t actually need to bake, so mostly you need to keep them warm.

5.) Add the following ingredients

3 T. almond meal

2 T. coconut flour

2 T. water

1 T. cocoa powder

sprinkle of salt (1/4 t., maybe?)

If you do not need this to be gluten free and want to use more common ingredients, use 5 T. whole wheat flour instead of the almond meal and coconut flour.

Atlanta children Photography -2216

6.) Stir brownie mixture.  If you’re not watching sugar, toss in a few chocolate chips to add to the goodness. (Dairy free alternative: dairy free chocolate chips)

healthy stove top brownie
In the middle of stirring. Keep stirring until you don’t see any of the coconut flour

 

7.) Remove from heat. Add 1/2 t. vanilla

8.) Serve in a dish and enjoy with that coffee you were brewing.

This is a PERFECT snack to make for yourself after you’ve tucked the little ones in for a nap. :)

Atlanta children Photography -2195

Another variation: Add a flax egg

Oh, another variation is to add blackberries after adding nuts.  Let them stew for just a little before adding the sweetner.  Skip the cocoa and add a pinch of cinnamon instead. 

If you skip the nuts you will need to add a little less water or then increase the coconut flour just a little.

For those of you who like me are new to using almond meal and coconut flour: almond meal adds bulk, but does not absorb liquid the way flour does.  Coconut flour absorbs liquids a little more quickly than flour. When I first tried this recipe with only almond meal the consistency was more like brownie batter.  The coconut flour helps the ingredients to cling together.

brownies

Here are the standards I like for food to meet when I’m cooking:

Healthy, tasty, economical, easy, attractive

This recipe scores well except for being economical.  I like that it is a dessert with protein and healthy fats.

How do they compare in taste to a normal delicious, gooey brownie?  So….if the two pans were side by side I would guess most people would prefer the unhealthy version.  Sugar always steals the show.  If you like the crusty corners of brownies, you will miss them.  For people who love the center brownies, these will be great.  The texture is a little different, too. That being said, I do not miss regular brownies at all because I love these so much.

If you make these I’d love to hear whether you liked them, and what adjustments you made to the recipe. You know I’m cool with making adjustments to recipes. =)

 

17 thoughts on “Ooey-Gooey Gluten Free, Egg Free Brownies (with sugar free, lactose free variations)”

  1. These look amazing! Going to be my afternoon snack. And I’m so with you on the cooking vs. baking. SO hard fork me to follow a recipe exactly. :)

  2. How did I miss this? Looks awesome and I plan to try it as soon as I get the kids to bed tonight.

  3. So good! I used erythritol and maple flavoring instead of brown sugar. I thinking toasting the pecans is the key here. :) will def make again!

    1. I am loving hearing how everyone is adjusting these. Adding a flavoring is a good idea. I’ve also thought about adding coffee instead of water. :) It seems that should be good. :) Yes, the toasted pecans add amazing flavor.

  4. Delicious! I skipped the pecans and used regular flour since I don’t have almond meal or coconut flour, but I want to add those to my shopping list to try next time. Thanks for the recipe!

    1. So good to hear it worked with this variation, and that you liked it! Isn’t it awesome to have a fresh, warm brownie in about 5 minutes?

  5. Mmmm…I think most moms can appreciate the value of an easy snack to make after the kids are in bed. :) This looks like a good one for a date night, too!

  6. oh my goodness!! does this ever look/sound amazing!! I will definitely be pinning this recipe and trying it… maybe tomorrow! =) Thanks Christy!!

  7. Well I’m not watching gluten or anything else (except weight) but I still want to make this because it looks so very yummy!

  8. These look and sound so yummy…must try as soon as I get some pecans. Love your skillet. Am I right that it’s a really small one? I have 2 larger cast iron skillets which I love for the family stuff, but I’ve been looking for a small one to make my own eggs and maybe brownies in. ;)

    1. You could also use almonds or another type of nut, I’m sure. =) I do like the skillet which I use to increase iron absorption. Cooking with it makes me feel like a legit. cook. =) It’s not the really small one that would be perfect for individual servings, but I use it a lot. Except that despite three tries, I’ve never managed to properly season it. So now it’s sitting on my counter–rusty again and waiting to be scrubbed and seasoned.

      1. I was planning to make this for breakfast :-)…until I forgot and made eggs instead. I can’t wait to try it! I love the gooey center of almost anything baked!!
        P.s. I tried seasoning my skillets several times and never had any luck…for a long time I just rubbed them down on the inside lightly with oil, and stored them in the oven. It actually worked perfectly because I rarely remember to take them out before I preheat my oven, and over time they got beautifully seasoned(I still store them there). Now I can scramble eggs in them and literally wipe them out if I make sure the pan is hot when I add the eggs and use a little butter. I never use a scratcher on them only a plastic scraper if I need to, never let them soak in water, and dry them immediately after I wash them. Occasionally after doing a steak or something they’ll get a bit rough, but nothing a batch of bacon won’t cure :)

Comments are closed.