One of Those Posts Where “Today” Refers to Two Months Ago:

Today started with an entire bowl of cereal dumped down over the table, a chair and the floor.
14 March-2246
I dumped coffee on myself. Twice.
Paxton tried to pull the coffee maker off the counter for a closer look.  I was cleaning it, and the pot was full of steaming hot water!  The cord kept him from being successful and I thanked God over and over!!!  We could have had a scalded child.
14 March-2259
You know that feeling when you race into a public restroom kind of…last minute…and ew, ew, ew, the seat is wet? Yeah, well, that happened to me in my own house.  Thank you, Son.
Zachary painted pictures during quiet time and made plans to sell them for a few dollars. He planned making frames for them at the warehouse and calculated how much he could make. And he dreamed up sales where I would bake and sell cookies and pies and cakes and lemonade and some toys he doesn’t want and his paintings.
14 Feb-1282
Tonight I was fried and lying in my room.  There was a knock at the door.
“Is it important?”
“Not really.”
“Can you ask Daddy about it?”
“I really wanted to do it with you.”
“Okay.  Come in.”
He lay himself on top of me.  “I want to pray for the poor people.”  He nudged me, “You first.”
I prayed.
He sat up, his face shining, “I know!  I can make them a really bright painting full of colors and give it to them for  free!”
“Dear God, Thank you for putting poor people in my heart, so I can be kind to them and help them.  Please, help me to make my colorful paper really nice for them and to do the best I can, so I can give it to them.  In Jesus name, Amen.”

Days like yesterday are    a reminder that motherhood’s rewards are not immediate, but that sometimes when they come they are better than you could have hoped they would be.

5 thoughts on “One of Those Posts Where “Today” Refers to Two Months Ago:”

  1. Hi Christy! I’m Heather and I was hoping you would be able to answer a question I have about your blog! Please email me whenever you get a free moment at Lifesabanquet1(at)gmail(dot)com :-)

  2. I loved reading about your day. oh the days of mothering! miss u and your kids.

    Mackenzie read Z’s prayer and thought it really sweet. ;)

  3. Zachary’s tender heart…. Wow. Those kinds of times with your kids make all the other catastrophic events throughout the day feel a bit more manageable. Or at least, like we’re given floaties in the middle of a pool where we can’t swim. :) Poor illustration! I’ll stop now.

    The picture of you and the boys… I can’t stop looking at it. You are so beautiful and radiant, and so full of LIFE! I just love it so much.

Comments are closed.