Recommendations: Homeschool Edition

After so many, many words (Homeschooling Methods Part I and Part II) I need a minute to catch my breath.

Today I’ll share inspiration from others.

1) In the get-it-right-frenzy that homeschooling posts can be, this is an invitation to take a seat: Homeschooling from a Place of Peace and Rest

 

2) A cute craft.  (Mrs. Tiggy Winkle?) It would be nice if there were instructions, but the website is unresponsive. Making this hedgehog looks simple, though–like a paper plate folded in half and shaped just a little for the face. Great scissors practice for little ones.

(Edit: We just made a hedgehog with a coffee filter. It was fun, but Ian had a hard time cutting the filter.  Our scissors were pretty dull,  but maybe a paper might be a better material to cut.)

paper hedgehog for scissor practice -- too cute

via

3) Listening to stories is a great diversion for winter days. The boys like listening to audio books while we’re traveling and while they’re building or drawing. Books Should be Free is a  website that offers free audio books. I linked to a classic that we’ve listened to several times.

4) The Biggest Bear is a delightful read–both because of the story and the illustrations. Enjoyed by ages two to adult.  If you haven’t read it, add it to your library list.

5) It’s Christmas vacation, so you might need extra activities to keep everyone busy. Here’s a chart to help children create their own fun if they run out of ideas on their own.

Free printable - no more, "Mom, I'm bored!"... This is going up on our wall ASAP!

[Get the free printable copy here]

4 thoughts on “Recommendations: Homeschool Edition”

  1. I love all your homeschooling tips! I haven’t quite gotten there yet… my girls are 4 and 2 but am looking forward to homeschooling them. It is interesting how you learn more about yourself as you observe your children. My oldest, Kendra, can pick things up very quickly when hearing it in a song or other interactive things like books but I have noticed that her attention span is very short when she is coloring or doing something that takes a lot of concentration. I remember that seat work was so hard for me and I often found myself falling asleep when working on math. I could sit for hours reading a book though. I’m excited about the freedom homeschooling gives you to taylor learning to your and your child’s personalities. However, being an undisciplined person kinda scares me! I will really need to work on that area. I’m glad to be able to learn from my Mom’s experiences homeschooling us too. I know we didn’t make it easy for her but she still hung in there!

  2. Great idea’s! homeschooling keeps popping to mind in the last year. my brain spins just thinking about it, BUT I am beginning to consider it. I keep thinking I would have to be a calmer person to do so, stress really hurts my head and I hardly function under it. (the loud bickering type) I keep wondering how other mothers keep their sons calm and willing to learn.

    1. Di, I hear you! But I also find that the boys are calmer when doing school than they are any other time. Maybe because they are focused on something that takes so much concentration? I don’t know for sure. I just know that when Zara was born I wanted to take off for awhile and after two days off school we realized the only way we were going to cope was to re-start school. A nine and five year old cooped up during the wintertime without a school structure? Yeah, that was a bigger disaster than doing school. :)

  3. I love this post. And I remember seeing that BORED chart on your frig and thinking it was pretty cool. I’d have to find something else for the E though or I’d run out of money. :) :) :)

Comments are closed.